Lady Danger MACximal Lipstick

I have been begging Mac to do a satin version of Ruby Woo for years… I’ve emailed, DM’d and commented but the only response was that they had no plans to release Ruby Woo in a different formula.

When I saw that Mac had reformulated some of it’s most popular matte shades I was quite excited!

Ruby Woo and Lady Danger are two of my all-time favourite lipstick shades, but they are incredibly drying – particularly Ruby Woo – and as I’m getting older, I’m noticing changes in my lip texture and lip line that are exaggerated by super matte formulas. I remember writing a post on this blog years ago about the new “comfortable matte” formulas; I was outraged that they looked like a matte, but we’re more like a satin in texture and wearability. These are now my favourite type of lipsticks?! 😂🤷🏻‍♀️

So are the MACximal lipsticks worth the hype? And how do they compare to other comfort mattes?

From the blurb:

SILKY MATTE, 12HR LONGWEAR, PIGMENT RICH SHADES
Our iconic Matte Lipstick is now bigger and better – with more colour, more comfort, more wear. The matte formula you know and love is upgraded to a silkier, smoother texture in pigment-rich hues – from iconic to new.

Get MORE COLOUR with full coverage, pigment rich payoff in our inclusive range of Artist approved shades.

Get MORE COMFORT with a creamy blend of coconut oil, organic shea butter and organic cocoa butter that conditions and nourishes lips.

Get MORE WEAR with 12 hours of colour from this long-lasting lipstick.

The iconic matte Lipstick that changed the world we live in may have been reimagined, but each famous and fresh hue still serves up that signature vanilla scent you already love (or soon will…).

Sounds good right? Even when I use lip balm before and after using OG Ruby Woo my lips get super dry – I also find that when I do reapply, it gets quite clumpy and patchy. I have to remove all traces of the first application, and then redo my lips.

The new lipsticks are supposed to be bigger than the originals – hence the more spendy price of £25 per lipstick! – but I didn’t really notice a difference when I opened the parcel.

On the left is my OG Ruby Woo, the new formula on the right, I’d say the actual bullet is 20-25% bigger.

In terms of colour, they swatch very closely on my hand. The top sample is OG, the bottom is MACximal. The new formula may be a teensy bit brighter, but I love a bright lippy, so I’m not mad about that.

Ruby Woo MACximal Lipstick

The lipsticks wear incredibly well, and very evenly. As I mentioned before, the previous formula got quite clumpy when you reapplied, and I haven’t had any issues with that so far…

What about the claims that this formula nourishes lips? This one is a bit more complicated to answer; the formula feels very drying on the lips, almost as drying as the OG, but when it’s removed my lips don’t feel dried out. When you apply the lipstick, even when you swatch it, you can feel that drag that means a lipstick is not going to move.

I like this new formula, and I prefer it to the original – especially now I’m in my forties, I need something that’s a bit more forgiving, but also doesn’t feather into my lip wrinkles! I’m not sure the increased amount of product justifies the price increase, but it’s still on the cheaper end of luxury lipsticks.

What do you think? Have you tried these new formulas or are you tempted? Let me know in the comments!

Stephani Xx

Leave a comment