Before I Fall

I have a confession to make – I actually watched the film before I read the book, and I think it may have ruined the book for me.
From the blurb:

For popular high school senior Samantha Kingston, February 12—”Cupid Day”—should be one big party, a day of valentines and roses and the privileges that come with being at the top of the social pyramid. And it is…until she dies in a terrible accident that night.


However, she still wakes up the next morning. In fact, Sam lives the last day of her life seven times, until she realizes that by making even the slightest changes, she may hold more power than she ever imagined.

Sam Kingston is essentially a Mean Girl. She hangs out with her best friends Lindsay, Ally & Elody, torturing the less popular kids and social misfits like Juliet A.K.A. Psycho. 

On the day that she dies, Cupid Day, Sam had received lots of roses from fellow students and was planning to lose her virginity to her cute but moronic boyfriend Rob. She also sends a rose to Juliet, taunting the girl about having no friends. She does this every year. 

The last thing Sam remember is pain, bright lights and a collision. Then she wakes up, and it’s Cupid Day again. 

At first Sam thinks it’s a nightmare, or deja vu, but as the day keeps repeating she realises she may be able to do something to stop Cupid Day ending in tragedy. 

This book is Mean Girls does Groundhog Day, and I really enjoyed it. At school I was in the middle of the social register; I was a Theatre Kid, I had friends, but I wasn’t in the popular set. I always knew that those kids who were popular and bullied people were unsuccessful after school (I read a lot of YA) so I wasn’t keen to join them. 

One of my pet peeves was bullying, and because of this I could not stand Sam’s character in this book. She is awful. Sam’s realisation that she is a cow and her path to redemption are the main points of the book,  but I found her character so unlikeable. Even when she starts to feel bad about the things she’s done, she still makes excuses for herself.  

I actually preferred the film, which is very unusual for me – usually book=better. I don’t know if that’s because Zoey Deutch made Sam more likeable or it cut down some of the monotony of the repeating days. It drags on a bit in the book. I’ve linked the trailer below. 

Let me know your thoughts in the comments.

Cheerio!

Stephani Xx

One thought on “Before I Fall

Leave a Reply

