Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

I finished Rebel of the Sands a while ago, and I had pre-ordered the sequel, but I kept putting off the review. 

I wanted to love this book, especially after all the hype, but even now, 6 weeks later, I still don’t know how I feel about it.

From the blurb:

Tell me how you want your story to go, he says, and we’ll write it straight across the sands.

Dustwalk is an unforgiving, dead-end town. It’s not the place to be poor or orphaned or female. And yet Amani Al’Hiza must call it ‘home’. 

Amani wants to escape and see tye world she’s heard about in campfire stories.

Then a foreigner with no name turns up, and with him she has the chance to run. 

But the desert plains are full of dangerous magic. The Sultan’s army is on the rise, and Amani is soon caught at the heart of a fearless rebellion…

This sounds really exciting, and action packed, and it is, but at times it seemed to drag. The plot was very complicated with rebellions, betrayals, supernatural and human enemies, as well as tangled love triangles and the whole thing became difficult to follow. 

Amani is a bit of a bad ass, trying to make it as a woman in a world that is not only run by men, but is run by men who hate women and see them as playthings. 

I really hope the next book is easier to get into; I liked the characters and ideas in this book, but I think the author tried to squish enough plot for a trilogy into one 350 page novel. I also hated the twist. 

I gave this book 3/5 stars on Goodreads. 

Let me know if you’ve read this book and its sequel in the comments. 

Cheerio!

Stephani Xxx

Leave a Reply

