The Fate of the Tearling by Erika Johansen 


I devoured The Queen of the Tearling and The Invasion of the Terling early last year, so when the final installment in the trilogy was released in November I decided to re-read the first two books. I really enjoyed Queen & Invasion, but I read 186 books last year, and I couldn’t remember all the details about the series.

From the blurb: 

In less than a year, Kelsea Glynn has grown from an awkward teenager into a powerful monarch and a visionary leader.


And as she has come into her own as the Queen of the Tearling, she has transformed her realm. But in her quest to end corruption and restore justice, she has made many enemies – chief among them the evil and feared Red Queen, who ordered the armies of Mortmesne to march against the Tear and crush them.


To protect her people from such a devastating invasion, Kelsea did the unthinkable – naming the Mace, the trusted head of her personal guards, Regent in her place, she surrendered herself and her magical sapphires to her enemy. But the Mace will not rest until he and his men rescue their sovereign from her prison in Mortmesne.


So, the endgame has begun and the fate of Queen Kelsea – and the Tearling itself – will be revealed…

At the end of the last book Kelsea has surrender herself and her magical Sapphires to the Red Queen of Mortmesne, leaving Mace to take over as regent.  The story picks up shortly after this. 

The Mace is uncomfortable with his new role, but swore to do his duty to the kingdom and honour Kelsea’s requests.  Pen is finding it difficult to deal with losing Kelsea, and is swiftly descending into alcoholism.  

Father Tyler is on the run from the Holy Father, having stolen the Tear Crown. The head of God’s Church has made it his business to decide what constitutes sin and moral behaviour in New London, and has employed mobs of believers to enforce his rules. 

Kelsea is being held as a prisoner in the Palais at Demesne, finally face to face with the woman reigned over The Tearling and it’s citizens with fear and intimidation for over 100 years. Will Kelsea survive long enough for the Mace to free her?  

I really enjoyed this novel; a lot of the questions raised throughout the series were answered- we know who Kelsea’s father is now!- but the ending was so disappointing. 

I don’t want to give any spoilers away, but the past 20 pages had me reliving the final episode of Chuck. The whole thing feels pointless, and a bit of a slap in the face. 

I have literally just finished reading, at the point of writing this review, so my opinion my change as I think about it more, but right now I’m not buying. 

This is still a great series, and I highly recommend it… just maybe not the last chapter. 

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below.

Cheerio!

Stephani Xxx

5 thoughts on “The Fate of the Tearling by Erika Johansen 

  1. I understand how you feel about the ending and I know that it’s a love or hate. I loved it, when thinking back in the book it did feel right to me. It was also so heartbreaking to me. I think the most disappointing aspect of this was just the reveal of the father. It wasn’t a good reveal but I don’t know if it was maybe the author saying that it really didn’t matter. I really love this series at the end of the day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

