The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon 

I loved Everything Everything.  The story, the writing, the cover art. It’s such a beautiful book. I didn’t think Nicola Yoon’s next book could possibly be as good. Spoiler… I was wrong.  It’s even better. 
From the blurb:

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.


Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.


The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

There isn’t much more to be said about the plot that isn’t already in the synopsis above, without giving away any spoilers.  

The story is told from the perspectives of Natasha, who believes in science and views the world as “observable facts”, Daniel who has the soul of a poet, but is crushed by the weight of his parents expectations, and “the Universe” acting through various people and objects around them.

On the day that they meet Natasha is fighting to get her family’s deportation order overturned and Daniel has an interview to get into Harvard.  Things don’t go according to plan. Is it fate, destiny or cruel irony that makes Daniel & Natasha fall in love? Are they supposed to be together forever, or just have one perfect day? Only the Universe truly knows…

I devoured this book. This is a beautiful, whimsical story about two young people from immigrant families at the opposite ends of the economic scale, who meet and fall in love in one day. This story is funny, sweet, and perfectly captures first love.

The scenes where they sing karaoke had me in hysterics laughing. I loved the “universe’s ” perspectives, and seeing how Daniel & Natasha unknowingly affected other people’s lives by falling in love. 

Let me know your thoughts on this book in the comments below.  

Cheerio!

Stephani Xxx

Leave a Reply

