13 Minutes by Sarah Pinborough 

I’m going through a YA/Thriller phase at the moment. I read a couple last year that enthusiastically described themselves as “Gone Girl for young adults”, but were just rambly and confused.  If any YA novel deserves to be likened to Gone Girl, it is this brilliantly twisty mystery by Sarah Pinborough. 

From the blurb:

I was dead for 13 minutes.


I don’t remember how I ended up in the icy water but I do know this – it wasn’t an accident and I wasn’t suicidal.


They say you should keep your friends close and your enemies closer, but when you’re a teenage girl, it’s hard to tell them apart. My friends love me, I’m sure of it. But that doesn’t mean they didn’t try to kill me. Does it?

Tasha is the Queen of the sixth form – she’s beautiful, blonde, and leader of the coolest clique at school, The Barbies. 

When Tasha is found floating in an icy river by a man walking his dog, everything changes. Everyone she knows is under suspicion, but no one knows how she ended up in the water. Was is suicide, attempted murder, or something far more insidious?

The other two “barbies”, Jen and Hayley, make a huge fuss over Tasha, but something is off. 

Tasha’s ex-best friend Becca goes to visit her when she finds out about Tasha’s condition. They haven’t been friends for years, but are drawn back together when it becomes clear that what happened to Tasha wasn’t an accident.  When you are in secondary school, everyone has their own agenda, their own secrets. How well do you really know your best friends? 

This book kept me guessing all the way through, nothing is as it seems. Sarah Pinborough really captures the melodrama of friendships and relationships in high school. 

Let me know your thoughts in the comments to below.

Cheerio!

Stephani Xxx

Leave a Reply

