Through the Woods by Emily Carroll

I had planned on reading this book as part of my October horror month, but I got behind schedule…oops. 
From the blurb: 

It came from the woods. Most strange things do.’


Five mysterious, spine-tingling stories follow journeys into (and out of?) the eerie abyss.


These chilling tales spring from the macabre imagination of acclaimed and award-winning comic creator Emily Carroll.


Come take a walk in the woods and see what awaits you there…

So I just finished reading this book. Can someone please come and explain it to me now? 

This is a beautiful, beautiful graphic novel. The illustrations are way beyond what you would normally expect from a graphic novel.  I’m seriously considering buying another copy to frame some of them. 

As described in the blurb this is a collection of five spooky stories taking place in or near woods. Some of the stories are clearly based on classic fairy tales, Little Red Riding Hood for example. Some of the stories may be based on tales I’m not familiar with. 

So why do I need an explanation? The stories are well told, scary as hell, and really grab your imagination. Until you get to the end of each story. The conclusion for most of the stories is really vague. 
The stories are:

  1. Our Neighbour’s House
  2. A Lady’s Hands Are Cold
  3. His Face All Red
  4. My Friend January
  5. The Nesting Place 

I deduced the implied ending for “Our Neighbour’s House” because I’m familiar with Red Riding Hood, but for the most part I am clueless about 3/5 of the stories. I’m sure that there are people out there who appreciate this style of storytelling.  Personally, I like to have a conclusion. 

I have given this book 3/5 stars because of the artwork, but I found the experiencing of reading this book incredibly frustrating.

Have you read this book? Let me know your thoughts in the comments below.

Cheerio!

Stephani Xxx 

Leave a Reply

