We Were On A Break by Lindsey Kelk 

If you’ve been reading my blog for a while you already know that I heart Lindsey Kelk (see what I did there?). I am pretty much guaranteed to love any book she writes; whether it’s an outing from one of her two series or a standalone novel, they are just so much fun to read. Reading a Lindsey Kelk novel feels like you just spent a few hours setting the world to rights with your best friend.
This latest novel is about Liv and Adam, who have decided to take a break from their relationship.

From the blurb:

Is it a break? Or is it a blip?


LIV and ADAM are in love.

LIV and ADAM are supposed to be getting engaged.

Until ADAM accidently suggests they take a break.

And LIV starts thinking …


Friends, family and bystanders all have an opinion and one complication leads to another as Adam and Liv try to muddle through in this hilarious, heartwarming comedy.


Are they split up – or are they on a break? What exactly are they allowed to get away with? And, most importantly, what do Liv and Adam really want?

Adam and Liv are on holiday in Mexico, expecting to be engaged by the time they go home. Adam’s brother Chris is married to Liv’s best friend Cassie, so when Adam told his brother he was planning to propose during the holiday, 3 months ago, Chris immediately told Cassie, who then told Liv. 

Adam has been planning the perfect proposal, but on the last night of the holiday everything seems to go wrong.

Liv has been expecting the proposal, and it has put her on edge. Adam and Liv were really happy, but now Adam seems distracted, it’s the end of their holiday and he still hasn’t proposed. Maybe Cassie was wrong, or Adam has changed his mind?

On the last night of the holiday Adam has booked a beautiful restaurant to propose to Liv, ten minutes away. They get glammed up and decide to walk.  Unfortunately the directions were for drivers, not pedestrians, so they miss dinner. Instead they have a big argument. 

On the plane home Liv is baffled, and doesn’t know what happened. Her friends expect her to be coming back as an engaged woman. She feels upset and humiliated. 

Adam feels like a failure, he messed up the proposal and Liv is behaving strangely. He starts to think maybe the proposal wasn’t supposed to happen, and decides he needs a break. 

Back home everyone has an opinion on what Liv and Adam should do, and try to get involved. To help. Of course it all goes wrong and the interference only drives the couple further apart. Will Liv and Adam find their way back to each other?

This is a clever, touching, bloody hilarious novel. I laughed so many times reading this book. I was on a train (shocking I know) on my way to my best friend’s wedding at the time and this book helped to pass the time (6 hours people!). To be fair, I could have done with another hour to finish it uninterrupted! That’s how good a writer Lindsey is, she made me want to spend more time on a cramped, over heated train. Kudos. 

The only thing I didn’t like was the use of abbreviations like FOMO, DTF etc in conversations between the characters. I know people do talk like that, but I’m not one of those people and I had to keep googling the meanings. It made me feel old. Sob. 

I was sent this book in exchange for an an honest review via Netgalley. I have also pre-ordered a hard copy. Because I love it. 

Let me know if you’re planning on reading this book, and your favourite Lindsey Kelk novel. 

Cheerio!

Stephani Xxx 

Leave a Reply

