Poison City by Paul Crilley 

This book was sent to me to review for an honest review, and this post is part of the Hodder and Stoughton blog tour.

From the blurb:

The name’s Gideon Tau, but everyone just calls me London. I work for the Delphic Division, the occult investigative unit of the South African Police Service. My life revolves around two things – finding out who killed my daughter and imagining what I’m going to do to the bastard when I catch him.

I have two friends. The first is my boss, Armitage, a fifty-something DCI from Yorkshire who looks more like someone’s mother than a cop. Don’t let that fool you. The second is the dog, my magical spirit guide. He talks, he watches TV all day, and he’s a mean drunk.

Life is pretty routine – I solve crimes, I search for my daughter’s killer. Wash, rinse, repeat. Until the day I’m called out to the murder of a ramanga – a low-key vampire – basically, the tabloid journalist of the vampire world. It looks like an open and shut case. There’s even CCTV footage of the killer.

Except… the face on the CCTV footage? It’s the face of the man who killed my daughter. I’m about to face a tough choice. Catch her killer or save the world? I can’t do both.

It’s not looking good for the world.

London Tau is a detective with the Delphic Division; he investigates supernatural crimes with the help of The Dog, a spirit guide in the form of, well, a dog. Dog is supposed to help London perform magic so that he can catch bad guys and survive, but in reality is only concerned with binge watching TV and downing sherry. Oh and lovingly referring to London as “dipshit”.

London started working for the Delphic Division after his daughter Cally was murdered and his relationship with Cally’s mother ended as a result of the loss.

London gets called to a case where a type of vampire has been murdered, and accidentally stumbles onto a much bigger problem.  The war between the Night (supernatural) people and Day (human) people is about to resume. The treaty is over and all hell is about to break loose. 

This book is so much fun. It really reminds me of Charlaine Harris’s Sookie Stackhouse novels (True Blood). It took me a while to figure out what was going on, but once I did I was hooked. There is a lot of information about the world and the characters thrown at you in the first 50 pages, but just let it wash over you. The important stuff is recapped as and when needed. 
As part of Hodder & Stoughton’s blog tour, I have a rule in the Poison City drinking game* for you:

Take a drink whenever the dog takes a drink (obey this rule at your peril).
Good luck! Ha ha, did I mention the downing sherry?

Poison City is available from Hodder and Stoughton for  £18.99 now.

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below.

Cheerio!

Stephani Xxx 

*Over 18s only!

8 thoughts on “Poison City by Paul Crilley 

Leave a Reply

