Coffin Road by Peter May

image

I’ve been having a bit of a crime/ psychological thriller marathon recently, I’m not sure why. Probably because I’m so excited about The Girl on the Train film coming out later this year. Whenever I’m in Waterstones they keep recommending thrillers to me, and I can’t say no to books. It’s just not in my makeup.

This book is one where I looked at the jacket info and was hooked, the tagline was “If you had killed someone you would remember, wouldn’t you?”.

A man wakes up on a cold deserted beach on an island in the outer Hebrides; he doesn’t know who he is, where he is or why he’s there, but he has a horrible feeling that he’s done something terrible.  As he tries to figure out who he is the only clue he can find is a map, marking out a path called Coffin Road.

Detective Sergeant Gunn is called out to investigate a violent murder; a man has been bludgeoned to death on an island where three lighthouse keepers went missing. No one has been able to identify the man, or explain why he was on the island.

Schoolgirl Karen Fleming is mourning the loss of her scientist father to suicide two years ago. Nothing about his death makes sense to her, and as she starts to investigate the circumstances of his suicide and his research she starts to think he might not have committed suicide after all…

This book follows the three different characters as they all try to discover the truth.

This book was very interesting, but was not what I expected.  It was still very good… I’m not sure how to explain without giving spoilers. I’ll just say it all pivots on Tom Fleming’s research.

I loved the fact that the amnesiac man’s story kept twisting and turning, you don’t know who he is or what he’s done, and neither does he.

Let me know in the comments below if you have read this book.

Cheerio!

Stephani Xxx

One thought on “Coffin Road by Peter May

Leave a Reply

