New Year, New You?

I hope everyone had a lovely Christmas (or holiday season). I had a wonderful time, even though I worked in between Christmas and New Year; I ate lots of yummy food, saw my friends and family, and drank a tad too much (mostly because of my family, bad, bad influences!).

This is usually the time of year when people start jumping on the fitness and health bandwagon, possibly fuelled by their guilt for over indulging in too many pigs-in-blankets (just a guess).

Whenever I hear resolutions about losing weight, cutting out takeaways, going to the gym 5 times a week, I just think…

image

Don’t get me wrong, I used to be one of those people who would spend Christmas in an orgy of chocolate, crisps, booze and all the forbidden food groups – wait, what makes this year different?- and then punishing myself for several months, before falling off the wagon, again, and then starving myself, again.

I vowed to myself a few years ago that the binge-shaming cycle would stop, and since then my New Year’s resolutions have been about being kinder to people, being more positive, and making time to do things I enjoy, and I’m a lot happier.

This year I aim to:

  1. Get back into running, because it’s something I enjoy.
  2. Try to think of at least one good thing that’s happened each day, before I go to sleep.
  3. Post about the books I’m reading on social media for my #365daysofreading project (bookworm, proud of it).

What are your resolutions?

Let me know in the comments below.

Cheerio & Happy New Year!

Stephanie

xxx

 

3 thoughts on “New Year, New You?

  1. I agree with you! Resolutions should be about improving our lives, not making ourselves feel like shit! I think you’ve made good goals that fit what you ENJOY and that’s ultimately the point of life, right!?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

