Autumn Berries

Left to Right: Smashbox Cherry Smoke, MAC Burgundy Times Nine, and Urban Decay Vice 3. Image ©msstephanimichelle
Image ©msstephanimichelle

Hello lovelies! I’ve just got back from Wales, where I walked a lot, ate a lot of chips and gorged on ice cream. Seagull attacks were minimal. All in all it was brilliant. The weather was hot and sunny for the most part, but now I’m back home in Lancashire and the weather is decidedly chilly. Love it.

Autumn is my favourite time of the year; I love wrapping up warm and going for a country walk. Is it just me, or is the weather generally clearer in Britain in Autumn? When you wake up to a frosty morning, the sky is so blue, and the air crisp, is there anything better?

Also, Autumn means I can dig out my favourite jumpers and boots. I completely swap my wardrobe every six months; the spring/ summer clothes get packed away and are never to be seen, until April-ish anyhoo. It’s like getting a new wardrobe, and I find myself finding clothes I loved but have completely forgotten about.

I do the same thing with my make up & nail polishes; this week, when I got back and had unpacked, away went all my bright and pastel nail polishes/ lipsticks and out came the plums, the berries and the purples. Be still my heart.

©msstephanimichelle
©msstephanimichelle

I had a bit of a play today, planning out my makeup for the next week (does anyone else do this?) and I dug out my 3 favourite burgundy/ purple eyeshadow palettes, and my favourite autumnal lipsticks.

It’s Sunday, so I didn’t bother doing foundation or my eyebrows. I’m wearing NARS Audacious Lipstick in Charlotte, I really like these lipsticks, they are so moisturising, and I swear they make my lips look fuller, plus they last for hours, even when eating and drinking.

On my eyes I used the Urban Decay Vice 3 palette; I blended Sonic into the crease, put Alchemy all over the lid, and used Bondage to deepen the outer V and define my lower lash line. I finished with L’oreal Miss Manga Purple mascara.

I bought a few dresses and blouses for work that are burgundy, from the new autumn collections on the high street, so I went through my palettes and lipsticks to see what would work.

I have very little time in the morning, so I like to plan everything on Sunday evenings, so that I can just grab and go in the morning. Ideally I would love to sit at my dressing table with a cup of tea and spend time doing my makeup properly, but in reality I usually reset the snooze button a few times and do my makeup on the train. I’ve gotten really good at doing winged eyeliner on a moving train. It’s my superpower.

I like to have a few options for my lips, as sometimes I’m not in the mood for the lipstick I thought I would be wearing. Also, if I have a day where I’ll be in lots of meetings I like to wear a liquid lipstick, so I don’t have to worry about reapplying.

The lipsticks I have set aside for this week are:

  • YSL Rouge Pur Couture in 54
  • YSL Rouge Pur Couture The Mats in 206
  • NARS Audacious in Charlotte and Bette
  • NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Train Bleu
  • NARS Semi Matte Lipstick in Shanghai Express
  • Smashbox Be Legendary Lipstick in Fig
  • MAC Amplified Lipstick in Dubbonet
  • MAC Matte Lipstick in Instigator
  • Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in Nosferatu, Exorcism and Damned.
©msstephanimichelle
©msstephanimichelle

They probably all look very similar in the overview picture, so I’ve done some swatches. I’ve found that lipsticks look very different depending on your skin tone, so most of these lipstick look very dark on me, as I am ridiculously pale.

In the first swatch top to bottom, next to the Smashbox Cherry Smoke palette, are:

  • NARS Train Bleu
  • Kat Von D Nosferatu
  • Kat Von D Exorcism
  • Kat Von D Damned

As you can probably tell, I had a bit of a Sephora splurge last month, and bought about 10 lipsticks, including the crazy dark blue colour Echo. I can’t wait to wear that, but will probably not wear in the office…

©msstephanimichelle
©msstephanimichelle

In the second swatch, next to the MAC Burgundy Times Nine palette, are:

  • NARS Shanghai Express
  • NARS Bette
  • NARS Charlotte
  • Smashbox Fig

If I’m having a day where I want to wear a more subdued lipstick, I will go for the Smashbox Fig, it’s very wearable. On days when I’m feeling more daring I’ll go for the NARS Bette or Charlotte lipstick.

My favourite from these is definitely Charlotte, it’s a perfect bright berry.

If you are wanting to introduce burgundy into your eye makeup, but are worried it might be too much, then the MAC Burgundy Times Nine palette would be a good palette to buy; there are quite a few neutral shadows in there. It’s £30 which is quite expensive, but MAC eyeshadows are generally around this price.

The individual eyeshadows in this palette are very small. When I first received them I burst out laughing at how minuscule they are, but considering the full sized shadows are usually around £15 you can’t really expect more than that for the price.

©msstephanimichelle
©msstephanimichelle

In the final swatch, top to bottom are:

  • MAC Instigator
  • MAC Dubbonet
  • YSL 54
  • YSL 206

The Smashbox Cherry Smoke palette is a smokey eye palette, so it is not for the faint hearted!

I was obsessed with this palette last winter. I would wear the darkest eyeshadows on my lids, but forgo liner, as it looked a bit too much with liner, and to be honest, you don’t really need it.

I am looking forward to wearing these shadows again in the coming weeks.

©msstephanimichelle
©msstephanimichelle

I love the Vice 3 palette, and I’m really excited about the launch of the Vice 4 palette. I don’t know how it can possibly top the Vice 3, but the marketing pictures of the packaging look amazing.

My go to look using this palette is to use Sonic, Alchemy and Bondage, as described above, with Lucky as a highlight on the inner corner of my eye.

Again, I wouldn’t usually wear eyeliner with this look, unless I was going out for the evening.

I like to wear NARS Charlotte with these shadows, but I only dab the lipstick on and rub it in with my fingers, so it is a stain rather than full on lipstick.

As mentioned, I also swap over my nail polishes in autumn, I will do a post about my nail polish collection soon, but my two main favourites are Essie Fishnet Stockings and Essie Wicked.

©msstephanimichelle
©msstephanimichelle

With most of the shadows listed, I have said that I generally wouldn’t wear eye liner, but if I do it will be the Benefit They’re Real in Beyond Purple, which is more of a deep wine colour than purple.

This has been my favourite liner for the last month, and I have bought it in most colours – I just need to get the green version for my collection to be complete (Ariel moment).

Left to Right: Essie Fishnet Stockings, and Essie Wicked.

So, what products are you looking forward to wearing this Autumn? Do you swap you make up over for the seasons or do you wear the same colours no matter what the weather?

Let me know your thoughts in the comments.

Cheerio!

Stephanie Xxx

2 thoughts on “Autumn Berries

  1. Welcome back! Ice cream and chips sound delightful 🙂 OMG I totally agree that the packaging on the Vice 4 looks amazing! I don’t think I’m going to buy it though, I think I totally prefer the assortment in the Vice 3 and I’ve hardly made a dint in anything. But I’m with you on busting out the reds and purples. Love this season!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

