Cult Products I Just Don’t Get

First of all, sorry I’ve been MIA – health issues, blah blah – I am feeling much better and raring to go!

So, do you ever buy the products all the beauty bloggers and YouTubers are RAVING about, try them and think “meh”? This happens to me all the time (yes I spend way too much on beauty products, I know); I wonder if it’s just me, if there is something I’m doing wrong, when I spend money on the latest must buy and it turns out to be average? Sometimes, it makes me think less of the products – I go in with high expectations, and think it will be the most brilliant thing ever, and end up really disappointed when it is out performed by my trusty Rimmel or Maybelline version, that costs a quarter of the price. Know what I mean?

Image  ©msstephanimichelle
Image ©msstephanimichelle

Maybe it’s the fact that the products are so hyped up, maybe nothing could live up to the rave reviews posted on social media, but maybe cosmetics companies are realising that if someone raves about it on YouTube they can bang out an average product and spend less on advertising, meaning more profits.   Maybe I’m just being cynical.

This is my list of products that I think are just not worth it:

1. Charlotte Tilbury Matte Revolution in Red Carpet £23

I adore Charlotte Tilbury, she’s a sassy red head who has built up an amazing career and owned the smokey eye look like no one else. I was really excited about her make up line; yes it’s pricey, but it looks fabulous and it must be good – it’s Charlotte Tilbury for Pete’s sake! This lipstick was such a disappointment and not what I was expecting at all. The colour is really nice, it’s a wearable red that would suit most skin tones, it doesn’t dry out the lips and actually feels quite moisturising. I like the shape of the lipstick – it’s squared off at the end, which makes it easier to apply to my cupids bow. So what’s my problem with this lipstick? It’s just not matte – this isn’t a super glossy lipstick, don’t get me wrong, but it’s not matte either, it’s something in between.

The main reason I love matte lipsticks is that they do not move once applied; I can easily get 3-4 hours wear out of my MAC matte lipsticks and even my Revlon lipstick is pretty budge proof. This lipstick came off with my first sip of tea. It was £23. Well I hear you say, at least the packaging is pretty; yes, yes it is. One of the main reasons we buy high end lipsticks is for the feeling of luxury and decadence; you may be having the most stressful day ever, but when you pull that baby out of your bag and reapply, you feel like a god damn movie star. This lipstick may look nice from a distance, and in photos, but it is plastic made to look like rose gold metal. Obviously we know that the lipstick case won’t be made of real gold, but seriously? My Too Faced Lipsticks are packaged with higher quality material. It just makes me feel that I wasted money on a cheap lipstick dressed up as a high end lipstick.

2. Anastasia Brow Wiz in Auburn $21

I hate this eyebrow pencil – because that’s all it is people, an eyebrow pencil – it’s thin, dry, a really dodgy sludgy-mahogany colour and when I use it, it makes me look like a toddler has drawn my eyebrows on. When I first used it the end fell off. Awful, just awful.

3. M.A.C. Penultimate Eyeliner Pen in Rapid Black £18

I heard great things about the MAC eyeliner pens, and this was from the Lorde collaboration – I think it was £17 at the time I bought it, but the current price for these eyeliners is £18. First off, the black isn’t the blackest black ever, or whatever nonsense the marketing said, it looks a dark bluey-grey-black, like most black eyeliners do. I didn’t find the pen tip very easy to work with, and it dried up very quickly. My Soap & Glory Supercat eyeliner is much better, and at £6 I can buy 3 for the price of one MAC eyeliner.

4. Kat Von D Tattoo Liner in Trooper $19

Clockwise from Left: Urban Decay 24/7 Eyeliner pencils, Bobbi Brown Shimmer Brick, Kat Von D Tattoo Liner, M.A.C. Penultimate Liner, Charlotte Tilbury Colour Chameleon, Anastasia Brow Wiz, Benefit They're Real and Charlotte Tilbury Matte Revolution Lipstick. ©msstephanimichelle
Clockwise from Left: Urban Decay 24/7 Eyeliner pencils, Bobbi Brown Shimmer Brick, Kat Von D Tattoo Liner, M.A.C. Penultimate Liner, Charlotte Tilbury Colour Chameleon, Anastasia Brow Wiz, Benefit They’re Real and Charlotte Tilbury Matte Revolution Lipstick. ©msstephanimichelle

I was so excited to buy this eyeliner, I follow Kat Von D and her beauty line on Instagram, and I’m constantly seeing posts of amazing looks people have done with this eyeliner; it’s suposed to be easy to use and good for doing artistic looks. I found this liner quite difficult to work with and get a sharp, defined line. It’s very black, and super long lasting, but you have to get the line done in one swipe; if you try to go over an area to make it mor defined or thicker, it’s as if the pen sticks to the existing liner like a magnet and pulls it away. It’s hard to explain. I ended up with gaps that get worse when I try to go over my liner again. Maybe it’s because it is so quick to dry. Anyway, my point is you have to work really quickly with this liner. It is really long lasting, it doesn’t fade or leave smudgy marks under your eyes, but it wasn’t as great as I was expecting. Also, I think I’m allergic to something in the liner, as it makes my eyelids feel sore.

5. Bobbi Brown Shimmer Brick in Rose £33

I do like this product, and when I’m travelling I take it to use as an highlighter-blusher in one, but I don’t think its worth the money; it feels quite powdery, it gives a nice glow and lasts for a good few hours, but it’s not really a must have. I much prefer my Mary-Lou Manizer (even if TheBalm don’t understand what an antonym is, grrrr) and even my MUA Undress Your Skin highlighter, which was £3 (Bargainousness).

6. Benefit They’re Real Mascara in Black £19.50 (Samples)

Someone out there really wants me to like They’re Real – I have received so many samples in magazines, beauty subscriptions and Benefit gift sets, but I. Just. Don’t. Get. It. In my opinion this is just an ordinary mascara, it doesn’t volumise or lengthen my lashes to any extraordinary degree, the black is a basic black. I much prefer the Roller Lash mascara, which seems to volumise, thicken and curl my lashes nicely. I’m not really into massively volumised eyelashes anyone; honestly, sometimes to me, it looks like people have stuck spider legs to their eyes, rather that looking like they have false lashes on. Bleurgh.

7. Urban Decay 24/7 Glide On Eyeliner £27 (set)

Urban Decay is one of my favourite brands, and has been since I was about 20- so a few years, ahem- but I do not like their eyeliner pencils. An eyeliner pencil should be soft, so you don’t scratch yourself with it- but it should also be easy to work with and firm enought to allow you to line your eyes before re-sharpening. These pencils don’t even last halfway through one eye – they’re the wicked witch of the cosmetics industry; they look all black and spiky, then I put them near my eyes and they instantly melt until the point vanishes.

8. Charlotte Tilbury Colour Chameleon Eyeshadow Pencil in Bronzed Garnet £19

Another Charlotte Tilbury product – I cannot believe I spent nearly £20 on this. It’s an eyeshadow pencil. Supposedly this is a stay all day eyeshadow pencil, that has been designed to bring out green eyes. It’s an eyeshadow pencil, and I suppose it does look good on my green eyes, but it is such a pain in the bum to work with, it creases and fades after an hour, and is just awful.

So, these are my most disappointing product, let me know if you agree or disagree in the comments, and which other products you have were less than impressed with after parting with your hard earned cash.

Cheerio!

Stephanie

xx

9 thoughts on “Cult Products I Just Don’t Get

  1. Totally agree with you on the Kat liner. What a bust! As for the UD liner, I just scratched my eye today with the wood because the liner does really melt that fast 😦 And then the ABH Brow Whiz!? OMG I laughed so hard, haha 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. IDK what’s going on with WP but I just saw that I’m not following you! And then your blog isn’t there!? I’m going to keep looking, but I just wanted to give you an FYI… 😦

        Like

  2. Yeah hyped products make me feel cgwated and a bit dumb I fell fir it. I recently succumbed to the Chanel blanc de bkancs base. All the buzz made it out to be the MUST HAVE product of 2015. Even Bobbi Brown raved about it. Its rubbish it sinks in and makes my mineral makeup patchy, I even asked the lady at the counter if it was ok to use over mineral makeup. I am now looking at a pretty bottle that will never be used 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

