Let’s Talk About Stress

I don’t know about you, but I am constantly connected to some kind of technology; smartphones, tablets, laptops, even the bloody entertainment system is hooked up to wifi now. Hands up if you have started looking at things on your phone or tablet when your watching TV? Sometimes it feels like I am being bombarded with information 24/7.  The other night I woke my husband up by having a conversation with work in my sleep. I had a full on conversation, and said I would send them an email.

Yeah.

I’ve seen a number of articles floating around about how all this technology is bad for you, and that you should make sure all electronic devices are turned off at least a hour before you go to sleep. If you don’t, you will find it harder to get to sleep or sleep well; apparently it has something to do with stress hormones.

I have quite a high stress, responsible job (who’d have thunk it, maybe I’m finally growing up?), and there are days when I literally do not stop working until a ridiculous hour. Even when I’m not technically working, I find myself thinking about work and planning things in my head.

I think it’s safe to say that I’ve been feeling a bit stressed recently. On the NHS website stress is defined as “the feeling of being under too much mental or emotional pressure.” The UK (and a lot of other countries) have been in a recession for a few years; as a result of the recession lots of people have lost their jobs and found it difficult to get back into work, some people even lost their homes, so I’m sure that there are a lot of people out there feeling under pressure. Nothing like that had happened to me (luckily) so when my doctor suggested that I might be suffering from stress I was adamant that I was fine; I haven’t had a big drama in my life recently, so I couldnt understand how I could be feeling stressed.

Here’s the thing, stress isn’t necessarily triggered by a major event, it can be something that accumulates over a long period of time. Sometimes it can feel like because the people around you are having a tough time, you’re not allowed to as well, know what I mean? I tend to be the person everyone goes to with their problems, and I find it difficult to ask for help when I need it.

Anxiety UK has a DIY checklist to help identify if you’re stressed; I’m going to paraphrase their indicators below. If you think you’re doing five or more of the things in this list, you’re probably stressed:

Are you eating waaay too much?  Image from the pulse.
Are you eating waaay too much?
(Image from the pulse)
Has the odd glass of wine turned into a whole bottle?
Has the odd glass of wine turned into a whole bottle?
Have you lost interest in food? (Image from cygstarz)
Have you lost interest in food?
(Image from cygstarz)
Have you started smoking more?  (Image from hypnotherapy UK)
Have you started smoking more?
(Image from hypnotherapy UK)
Has your 1-2 cups turned into ten?
Has your 1-2 cups turned into ten?
Is everything and everyone annoying you?
Is everything and everyone annoying you?
Eaten any fat sandwiches to unwind?
Eaten any fat sandwiches to unwind?
Are you finding it hard to make decisions?  (Image from calbuzz)
Are you finding it hard to make decisions?
(Image from calbuzz)
Is the slightest annoyance making you feel like you're gonna hulk out?
Is the slightest annoyance making you feel like you’re gonna hulk out?
Are you struggling to cope?
Are you struggling to cope and feeling out of control?
Difficult to concentrate?
Difficult to concentrate? (please set up the salmon ladder in front of my desk😍)
Is your list of things to do getting longer, with tasks not being finished?
Is your list of things to do getting longer, with tasks not being finished?
Are you having excessive reactions to things that aren't really that big a deal?
Are you having excessive reactions to things that aren’t really that big a deal?
Have you lost interest in everything except work?  (Image from celebquotes)
Have you lost interest in everything except work?
(Image from celebquotes)
Permanently exhausted, even though you are getting enough sleep? (Image from pinterest)
Permanently exhausted, even though you are getting enough sleep?
(Image from Pinterest)
Have you lost interest in, ahem, relations?
Have you lost interest in, ahem, relations?
P
Is your manicure looking a bit worse for wear?
(Image from news.com.au)

I’m trying to be light hearted about this, but stress is quite serious and can affect your health; if you think you might be suffering from stress please go and see your doctor. I have been experiencing chest pains, but still insisted I wasn’t stressed. We live in a society where you just keep going no matter what; sometimes you need to listen to what your body is trying to tell you.

I’m going to posting another beauty and book review this week (so don’t worry, I’m not going super serious with this blog), but I will also post some tips on how to deal with stress. Let me know your experiences in the comments.

Cheerio.

Stephanie

3 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About Stress

  1. Never underestimate the effect stress can hvae on you. Since I changed jobs to one less stressful I fell like a different woman. I shed 10 years off my face overnight!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

