ColourPop & KathleenLights Collaboration

Look at the cute card she put in with it!
Look at the cute card she put in with it!

I know, you’re probably thinking “How behind are you? This happened ages ago!”

Well, the UK is always behind the U.S. on new products anyway, but ColourPop don’t ship to the UK yet, so I haven’t been able to get my mitts on any of the beautiful looking make up.

Until now that is. One of my fab instafriends is in Canada, and kindly organised getting my stuff shipped to Canada, and then to me in the UK. So, what did I get?

image

I had to get the KathleenLights Where The Light Is eyeshadow set, and Lumiere pencil & Lippie Stix; the whole reason I found out about ColourPop was because of Kathleen’s videos (I love her, she is hands down my favourite YouTuber). I also saw Kayley Melissa wearing Chi Chi in one of her videos, so I decided to get those as well.

Where The Light Is contains:

  • Glow–(Creamy Vanilla / Matte Finish),
  • KathleenLights–(Bright Golden Copper / Pearlized Finish),
  • Blaze–(Coco Bronze Sprinkled with Multi-Dimensional Glitter / Metallic Finish),
  • Cornelious–(Mid-tone warm caramel / Matte Finish)

image

In the swatches below you can’t really see Glow, but I think this is because it is very close to my skin tone (I’m a ghost!) rather than a pigmentation issue.

KathleenLights is so beautiful! It’s metallic but sparkles at the same time, yet it doesn’t look teenagery.

Cornelious is a lovely colour; it really reminds me of Tyranny from the Urban Decay Pulp Fiction palette.

Blaze is a metallic bronze with glitter.

These are my first ColourPop eyeshadows, so I wasn’t really sure what to expect from them; the texture will take a bit of getting used to.

Left to right: Cornelious, Glow, Blaze and KathleenLights.
Left to right: Cornelious, Glow, Blaze and KathleenLights.

When you swatch them with your fingers they feel like very creamy powder eyeshadows, but when you use an eyeshadow brush the eyeshadow moves about like a cream or gel eyeshadow.

It’s weird. I’m probably not explaining it very well.

I don’t think they come across as well in photos as they do in person; they are really, really beautiful. It’s probably a good job they don’t ship to the UK, I’d buy them all.

In the swatch to the right, if you look closely you can just see Glow. Yep, I’m that pale.

The Where The Light Is set is $20.

In terms of lipstick, I feel like I have really weird lips. I have lots of white scar tissue on my lip line from coldsores, so I want lipsticks to be as opaque as possible.

Wearing Where The Light Is and Lumiere Lippie Stix
Wearing Where The Light Is and Lumiere Lippie Stix. I also have Rimmel Wake Me Up Mascara on my lashes, but no other makeup. 

If I wear a gloss, I want it to be thick. I used to get really disappointed when I bought a new lipgloss and it turned out to only have a hint of colour.

Sometimes I think I have really pale lips, and if I wear nude lipsticks I can look washed out, but on the other hand most lipsticks look redder on me than they do in the tube. If I wear Too Faced Naked Dolly without a lipliner it looks absurd.

Any hoo, the point is I find it difficult to get a nude lipstick that looks ok.

Lumiere is more neutral than nude against my skin tone, but I really like it. It’s not too pink or too brown; it’s the perfect shade for work.

Who else hopes Lumiere is named after the candelabra from Beauty & the Beast? Just me? Okay.

I really like the texture of the Lippie Stix as well, it’s quite thick and feels like it’s going to stay in place, like it will take a lot to move this puppy.

Left to right: Blaze, a KathleenLights, Lumiere Lippie Stix, Lumiere Pencil, Chi Chi Lippie Stix and Lumiere Pencil.
Left to right: Blaze, a KathleenLights, Lumiere Lippie Stix, Lumiere Pencil, Chi Chi Lippie Stix and Lumiere Pencil.

Lippie Stix are like a lipstick pen, rather than a traditional bullet or tube; they swivel up, and because they are thinner you have a lot more control when you’re applying it.

I have quite a defined cupids bow, so if a lipstick is too wide or round I find it difficult to apply without going out side of my natural lipline.

The other shade I chose, Chi Chi, is super bright; In my personal opinion it’s more coral than orange, but either way it is fierce! I will be rocking this colour to client meetings when I need an extra boost of confidence.

The Lippie Stix and Pencils are $5 each; if you spend over $30 you get free U.S. Shipping. I spent rather a lot more than that, as I had to pay for shipping to Canada, and then to the UK. Was it worth it? Hell yes.

Please ColourPop, start shipping to the UK!

Have you tried any of these yet? Let me know what you think.

Cheerio.

Stephanie Xxx

4 thoughts on “ColourPop & KathleenLights Collaboration

Leave a Reply

