The Book Blogger Confessions Tag

I saw this post on bluechickenninja and thought it looked like fun!

Which book, most recently, did you not finish?

Image from Goodreads.
Image from Goodreads.

Thief’s Magic by Trudi Canavan; I love her books and re-read her other series at least once a year. I don’t know what it is about this book I don’t like, maybe it’s the steampunk vibe. There are two protagonists, Tyen a student of Archaelogy and Rielle, the daughter of a dyer.

The novel switches back and forth between the two characters viewpoints; Tyen lives in a world where the industrial revolution is being powered by magic; there is a finite amount of magic that can be used, and as it is depleted a smokey substance is left in the atmosphere as a bi-product. On Rielle’s world, she is taught that to use magic is to steal from the Angels. Tyen discovers a sentient book, Vella, which claims to be a girl who was transformed into a book, by an evil sorcerer who could travel between different, parallel worlds. Vella has a great store of knowledge, and could hold the answers which will allow Tyen to create new sources of magic.

I was really excited about this book, and started reading it straight away, but I just really couldn’t get into it. I made myself try it again a few months later, and got about halfway through, and started to get into it, but then I put it down again. The issue I have is that unlike other TrudI Canavan novels, where the story switches fluidly between the different character’s narratives, Thief’s Magic has quite a rigid structure; we have a large section purely telling Tyen’s story (100 pages),then it switches to Rielle (another 100 pages) then back to Tyen, then back to Rielle…. well, you get the picture.  I got about halfway through, but then I picked up another book and I haven’t gone back since; it’s sitting on my reading stack, I can feel it watching me and brooding.

Which book is your guilty pleasure?

Image from Churchminster.co.uk
Image from Churchminster.co.uk

Any trashy chick lit book; I have a bookshelf dedicated to chick lit and romance books where my Rebecca Chance, Tasmina Perry, and Lulu Taylor novels can sit happily, and not be judged by the more serious literature.

The Churchminster novels by Jo Carnegie (Country Pursuits, Naked Truths, Wild Thing and Horse Play) are probably my favourites; set in the lovely Cotswolds village of Churchminster, the books are full of hoorah Henry’s and wannabe IT girls.

Sometimes I want to read something light and fluffy, where as much time is taken to describe the character’s outfits as is taken to move the plot forward.

Which book do you love to hate?

Image from Wikipedia
Image from Wikipedia

I’m not sure that there is any book that I love to hate. There are lots of books I love, and lots of books I hate, but I have yet to find my “good bad film” equivalent.

If I’m honest, if there is a book that I hate, I will give it to a charity shop; I don’t have much patience with bad books, I’m quite fond of bad films, you know, where they are so bad that they pass through awful and become great.

FYI my favourite bad film is a toss up between Hawk The Slayer and The Lady & The Highwayman. Bloody hilarious.

Which book would you throw into the sea?

Image from waterstones.
Image from waterstones.

Robert Jordan’s The Eye of the World from his Wheel of Time series – the first three books in fact. One of my friends lent me the series at university  and I found it so dull, and incredibly hard work to read.

It’s an epic fantasy series, I can’t really remember what it was about; I just read a review/ summary and I still couldn’t tell you. A few of my friends really love this series, and are quite passionate about it, it’s just not for me.

I got halfway through the second book, and mentioned to my friend that I wasn’t exactly enthralled, and she said it didn’t really get good until book 4 & 5?!?!?! To hell with that.

Life is just too short to read boring books.

Image from Amazon.co.uk
Image from Amazon.co.uk

Which book have you read the most?

I re-read most of my books multiple times, I have no idea which I have read the most.

Fantasy wise it would be Lirael by Garth Nix (summary here) or Reaper Man by Terry Pratchett; I love all of the discworld novels, but I find this to be one of the funniest. In a nutshell Death finds out that he is going to die (some nasty auditors don’t like the fact that he has developed a personality), and so he decides to have a break from being the Grim Reaper. Chaos ensues.

I have read all of Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum novels multiple times, I love comedy-crime capers. I also re-read Austen, Georgette Heyer and all of my Trudi Canavan’s frequently.

Which book would you hate to receive as a present?

Anything by Danielle Steel. Bleurgh.

Image from Goodreads.
Image from Goodreads.

Which book couldn’t you live without? 

Wow these questions are hard! I could name about 50 books I couldn’t live without. I have sat here for about twenty minutes trying to narrow it down to one book. I’m going to say Frederica by Georgette Heyer; its the book I always read when I’m feeling poorly or run down. Frederica is a Regency romance, about a young woman called Frederica (funnily enough) who is trying to arrange a good marriage for her younger, very beautiful sister Charis. Frederica has charge of her sister and two younger brothers; she brings them to London for the Season, and is trying to make a good match in straightened circumstances; she calls upon a connection of her father’s, the Marquis of Alverstoke, to help present her sister to the ton and launch them into society. It is a lovely, old-fashioned romance, much in the style of Jane Austen.

Which book made you the angriest?

Waterfall by Lauren Kate; I hated it. I really really hated it. Full review can be found here.

Image from Amazon.co.uk
Image from Amazon.co.uk

Which book made you cry the most?

Burial Rites by Hannah Kent; this is a novelisation of a true story, about the last woman to be executed in Iceland. This story is a combination of research, local folklore and speculation. This book is just so moving and beautiful. Agnes has been accused of murder and sentenced to death; there were no prisons at this time (1829), so she must spend her last few months living at a remote farm, where she is closely guarded by the farmer’s wife and children. Even though you know that Agnes is going to die (it’s the whole point of the story), you can’t help hoping that she can find a way to live.

They will see the whore, the madwoman, the murderess, the female dripping blood into the grass and laughing with her mouth choked with dirt. They will say “Agnes” and see the spider, the witch caught in the webbing of her own fateful weaving. They might see the lamb circled by ravens, bleating for a lost mother. But they will not see me. I will not be there.”

I defy you to read it and not cry buckets.

Which book cover do you hate the most?

Any book where the cover is re-designed to tie in to a movie adaptation; I buy a lot of kindle books now, and I will go back to re-read a book, only to find that the cover had been updated, and now looks naff.

Anyone else who wants to do this please do & let me know so that I can have a nosey!

Cheerio!

Stephanie Xxx

Leave a Reply

