‘Always the Bridesmaid’ by Lindsey Kelk Book Review

It’s been a while since i’ve done a book review, so I decided to do a review of the latest Lindsey Kelk novel, if you’ve read my blog before, you will know that Lindsey Kelk is one of my favourite authors. As with previous posts, you can follow the link below for my YouTube review or keep reading.

So, the blurb on the back of the book says:

“Everyone loves a bridesmaid – except Maddie, who’s perpetually asked to be one.
Everyone loves a wedding – except Maddie’s best friend, who’s getting divorced.
And everyone loves the way Maddie’s so happy behind the scenes – except Maddie herself.
One best friend is in wedding countdown while the other heads for marriage meltdown. And as Maddie juggles her best chance at promotion in years with bridezilla texts and late-night counselling sessions, she starts to wonder – is it time to stop being the bridesmaid?”

I bought this on my Kindle and in paperback form; I prefer to read actual books, but because I travel a lot, I re-purchase my favourite books on my kindle, in case I get the urge to re-read a favourite book when i’m working away or commuting. it says a lot that I have started pre-ordering both kindle & paperback copies of Lindsey’s books before the synopsis has even been released; I just know i’m going to love it.

This book introduces a new character Maddie, how is a down trodden events planner, going through a bit of a  dry patch in terms of romance, and has two friends going through stressful life stages simultaneously; one fried is getting married, and the other is getting divorced. as Maddie is an events planner, her friend Lauren seems to think that Maddie will plan her wedding free of charge “in her spare time”.

Everyone in Maddie’s life seems to take it for granted that she will drop everything to help them out; I can relate to this. As someone who has been a bride and a bridesmaid, I can also identify with a lot of the situations that Maddie becomes embroiled in throughout the course of the book. I could list dozens of sections where I was in stitches, but I don’t want to ruin the story for anyone, so I will just say that one of the best Maddie tricks that I have actually used in my own work history, is to pretend to be a smoker, as smokers get extra breaks and don’t get hassled about it; when Maddie explains this to a guest at a wedding I was laughing out loud at their reaction. I get lots of funny looks when i’m reading books on trains, but I always get a seat and usually the one next to me is vacant as well (maniacal laughter works well, who’d have thunk it?).

Of course there is the usual romantic interest for our heroine, and the sexy bad boy, but which is which? You will have to read it to find out.

Seriously, read it, it is the perfect summer holiday/ lazy weekend book.

Let me know your perfect summer read, or if you have read this book in the comments below.

Cheerio!

(So wanted to write “Toodles” then, it’s getting late, ha ha…)

Stephanie

Xxx

P.S. I can’t believe i forgot to mention this – we get an update on Redhead Rachel & Dan from A Single Girls To do List – I didn’t realise it was the same Dan until halfway through (doh). it’s worth buying just for the update if you loved this book (seriously my favourite of them all).

UK Link:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Always-Bridesmaid-Lindsey-Kelk/dp/0007582331

US Link:

http://www.amazon.com/Always-Bridesmaid-Lindsey-Kelk/dp/0007582331

This post is not sponsored, I am posting the link to be helpful #justsaying

4 thoughts on “‘Always the Bridesmaid’ by Lindsey Kelk Book Review

  1. Ha ha, people seem to be getting a bit uppity about sponsored posts and things at the moment. I have had a few weirdly aggressive comments on Instagram etc about bloggers getting free stuff – Nope, I skint myself every month buying this stuff 😂 x

    Like

Leave a Reply

