Too Faced Melted Metal Review

Melted and Melted Metal, Left to Right; Metal Peony, Metal Debutante, Metal Dreamhouse, Metal Violet, Melted Coral and Melted Violet.
Melted and Melted Metal, Left to Right; Metal Peony, Metal Debutante, Metal Dreamhouse, Metal Violet, Melted Coral and Melted Violet. ©tishandfipsy

I was advised that the Melted Metal liquid lipsticks we’re going to be released in the UK on the 20th April, but when I contacted Debenhams (who are the main retailer that sells Too Faced products) to find out when Melted Metal, Natural Matte & Sugar Pop would be released, they advised that they hadn’t set a date for the releases yet, but that they would be some time in May, July and August.

I was so excited about these releases, and this fact combined with the fact that Too Faced palettes have gone from being £26-£29 to £32-£35, made me think it would be worthwhile to get them from Sephora now, rather than wait a few more months. On Sephora the palettes are $36 (£23), so even with taxes, customs and shipping it works out cheaper to ship them from the U.S. what can I say, things are ridiculously priced in the U.K.; don’t even get me started.

I was working away this week, so I got some new make up delivered to where I was staying; I didn’t previously own the Natural Eyes or original Melted lipsticks, so I had to get some, in order to do an informed review. It was practically compulsory.

Outer packaging for Metal Peony, Metal Debutante, Metal Dreamhouse, and Metal Violet. ©tishandfipsy
Outer packaging for Metal Peony, Metal Debutante, Metal Dreamhouse, and Metal Violet. ©tishandfipsy

From the original lipsticks I chose Melted Coral, and Melted Violet; both of these lipsticks are very bright, very pigmented, the formula is quite thick, and it does last quite a while. I was a bit confused though, when I was using Melted Violet, as it is very shiny. I had been under the impression that these were long wear lipsticks which dry to a matte finish. I liked the formula, it was quite moisturising and did last a couple of hours, but I wouldn’t describe these as long wear lipsticks; there was a lot of transfer when eating or drinking, and I had to reapply every couple of hours.

Melted Coral and Melted Violet outer packaging. ©tishandfipsy
Melted Coral and Melted Violet outer packaging. ©tishandfipsy
Too Faced Melted Swatches Top to Bottom; Original Coral and Violet, Metal Violet, Dream House, Debutante, and Peony.
Too Faced Melted Swatches Top to Bottom; Original Coral and Violet, Metal Violet, Dream House, Debutante, and Peony.

The Melted Metal lipsticks arrived on Friday (which is fantastic considering that I only ordered them on Monday); I chose Peony, Debutante, Dream House and Violet. The Peony & Debutant shades aren’t as pigmented as I hoped, but they are still very pretty. Dream House & Violet are more vibrant, but neither is as long lasting as the original formula lipsticks. I would say that the Melted Metal lipsticks last maybe an hour; in my opinion they are more like lipglosses than lipsticks.

Lip swatches in natural light, no filter. Left to Right; Melted Metal Peony, Melted Metal Debutante, Melted Metal Dreamhouse, Melted Metal Violet, Melted Violet and Melted Coral.©tishandfipsy
Lip swatches in natural light, no filter. Left to Right; Melted Metal Peony, Melted Metal Debutante, Melted Metal Dreamhouse, Melted Metal Violet, Melted Violet and Melted Coral.©tishandfipsy

The consustency of the Melted Metal lipsticks is a lot thinner than the original formula, less opaque, and isn’t as metallic as I had expected. It is interesting to note that the description on the tube says liquified metallic lipstick, and not liquified long wear lipstick.

Outer packaging description of the Melted and Melted Metal lipsticks. ©tishandfipsy
Outer packaging description of the Melted and Melted Metal lipsticks. ©tishandfipsy

The Metal shades are more shimmery than metallic, but the effect is lovely. I think I will probably buy a few more. I chose Debutante as it appeared to be more peachy than Peony, but they are actually quite similar colours; if Peony and Debutante strike your fancy, I would suggest getting one rather than both, or you might be a bit disappointed. When these are released in the U.K. I will get TuTu and Macaroon; I actually wish I had got Peony and Tutu instead of Debutante.

The Metal lipsticks are nice, and I will wear the, a lot in the summer, but I would have to give them a 6/10 overall. The original Melted lipsticks would probably get an 8/10, because although pretty and quite long lasting, they don’t live up to the description of being long wearing lipsticks, and they are definitely not matte finish; both formulas stay wet to the touch, and have a glossy finish, so I’m not sure why there have been reviews/ comments stating that it has a matte finish.

I would definitely recommend these lipsticks, and will be buying more in future, but if it is a long lasting lipstick you want, I would suggest buying the Stila Stay All Day or Kat Von D Everlasting Lipsticks instead, depend on what finish you prefer; KVD has a more matte finish, whilst Stila is more creamy.

Let me know what you think of the original and new formula in the comments.

Cheerio!

Stephanie Xxx

5 thoughts on “Too Faced Melted Metal Review

  1. You know, haven’t tried any of the TF Melted Lipsticks! Now that I know they don’t dry matte, I don’t think I’m interested either so thank you so much for being honest about their finish/longevity! I’m totally going to have to look into those KVD Everlasting lipsticks. What is your favorite brand of all time for staying power?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

