What’s in my Travel Make Up Bag?

I have to travel quite a bit for my job (which isn’t as glamorous as it sounds, let me tell you) and I always have a bit of a dilemma when it comes to packing. Organising what I’m going to wear isn’t too much of an issue, it’s deciding what make up to take with me that sends me into cold sweats.

As I said, hoarder. ©tishandfipsy
As I said, hoarder. ©tishandfipsy

I have sooooooo many palettes, I can never choose just one; I imagine this is how people feel when they are asked which is their favourite child. When I was away a few weeks ago, I found that I had about 10 lip products squirrelled away in my handbag. I’m a lipstick hoarder.

On my latest trip I decided to take the Stila “Eyes are the Window” palette in Mind, as I had recently bought it and couldn’t wait to dive right in.

Honestly though, is it just me? How are you supposed to know what make up you are going to want to wear for the next three days? What if the weather is miserable? I don’t know about you, but when it’s gloomy outside I find myself reaching for a red lip product, whether it’s Nars Dragon Girl to brighten up my day, or vampy MAC Dubonnet.

When the sun is high and shining, I usually go for a hot pink product of some kind; last summer my go to gloss was Lancome Lip Lover.

This weeks make up choices ©tishandfipsy
This weeks make up choices ©tishandfipsy

I like to have choices, is what I’m trying to say; the idea of limiting my options does not sit well with me, which is why I usually end up taking way too much make up with me, and not using the half of it.

I do make an attempt to only take what will be absolutely necessary, it’s just that my definition of necessary probably isn’t the same as most people’s. With this in mind, I try to take a few multi purpose products, so that there is room for a few more lipsticks.

I have a lot of neutral palettes; for my every day make up I usually go for either Urban Decay Naked Basics or Naked 2 Basics. It’s hard to go wrong with either palette, and you can find most colours you would need to use for a neutral eye in either of them. As the name would suggest, Urban Decay have got your basics covered; but sometimes you want to do something a bit different, so how do you pack for all eventualities?

Stila Eyes are the Window eyeshadow palette in Mind. ©tishandfipsy
Stila Eyes are the Window eyeshadow palette in Mind. ©tishandfipsy

I’ve had my eye on the Stila Eyes are the Window for a few months now, since I saw Mayim Bialik post a picture of one on Instagram. Stila say “Inspired by the spiritual idea that true beauty comes from within, each one has 12 luxurious eye shadows to enhance your inner beauty”. The palette comes in four different colour ways; Body, Mind, Soul and Spirit. I bought Mind. The mind palette has a lovely range of warm and cool colours, ranging from aubergine to burnt orange; it will easily get you from desk to evening looks. The packaging is beautiful; it’s a gold compact with the Stila logo and a large mirror. I cannot recommend this palette highly enough. The palette is very slim, and just a bit larger than a Bobbi Brown Shimmer brick. It is a great palette for travelling, and I will definitely be taking it on other jaunts. I really want the Soul palette as well, it has lovely metallics, copper, bronze and lovely earthy browns. It has sold out on the Stila UK website, but it is in stock in Sephora, so I think I’m going to have to have another Sephora splurge next month. It’d be rude not to.

Tuesday's makeup #MOTD Clockwise from the left: Bobbi Brown Shimmer Brick, Stila Eyes are the Window, Tarte Lights Camera Flashes, Mac Penultimate eyeliner pen, Maybelline Baby Skin primer, Too Faced Shadow Insurance, Benefit Big Easy and Stila Stay All Day liquid lipstick in Fiery. ©tishandfipsy
Tuesday’s makeup #MOTD Clockwise from the left: Bobbi Brown Shimmer Brick, Stila Eyes are the Window, Tarte Lights Camera Flashes, Mac Penultimate eyeliner pen, Maybelline Baby Skin primer, Too Faced Shadow Insurance, Benefit Big Easy and Stila Stay All Day liquid lipstick in Fiery. ©tishandfipsy

I actually intended to take the Naked on the Run palette with me on this trip; I tested it out in November and really didn’t like it. I went as far as to put it with my pile of “to take” make up, but in the end I just couldn’t bring myself to do it. I also took along L’oreal’s La Palette Nude but didn’t end up using it. To save a bit of space I took my shimmer brick in Rose, and used it as a highlighter and blusher; love that thing, you just swirl, brush and go. I also used the white strip as an eye highlighter, as I didn’t think the lightest colour in the Stila palette was shimmery enough to use as a highlighter, but that was my only issue with it.

I work long hours when I’m away from home, so I want to use products that will last all day. I have to say that I’m not terribly impressed with the Maybelline Baby Skin primer; it feels quite greasy, so your base doesn’t seem to set. However, I’m in my thirties and need a lot of anti-aging products to plump out my skin in the morning. I don’t have room in my bag for my entire arsenal, so I took the Baby Skin because my face feels really moisturised after using it.

Tuesday's Retro Glamour make up look. ©tishandfipsy
Tuesday’s Retro Glamour make up look. ©tishandfipsy

The Too Faced Shadow Insurance is amazing; I didn’t think I’d like it at first, because I have always loved UD’s Primer Potion, but when that ran out I started to use the sample I got with my Return of Sexy palette and I really like it. My eyeshadow does not budge. I was talking to a girl in the office around 6pm, and I noticed that half of her eyeliner had flaked off, she had mascara smudges under her eyes and her eyeshadow seemed to have disolved. I couldn’t help but feel a little bit smug.

One thing I was not happy with was the toiletries provided by the hotel; I love staying in hotels and using the complementary bottles of shampoo and body lotions, they’re so teeny! It’s like having a little pampering session. This time all that was provided was Lux Shower Gel/ Shampoo. No conditioner. No body lotion. My hair went crazy. I’m sorry, but my skin has completely different needs to my hair. My poor hair was so dry and unmanageable by day 3, yet my fringe turned stringy and limp; plus I’ve just had a lob, so I couldn’t hide my hair in a ponytail. All I can say is thank goodness I took my tangleteezer or I would have been in trouble. Also, I think my hotel room may have been designed for giants. Just saying.

Have I some how stumbled into an episode of The Land of the Giants?!?! ©tishandfipsy
Have I some how stumbled into an episode of The Land of the Giants?!?! ©tishandfipsy

In line with the whole “wanting make up that lasts all day” principle, I have recently invested in a few long lasting lipsticks. I remember trying the Max Factor Lipfinity lipsticks when they first came out, where you used a liquid lipstick and then a lip balm thing over the top that felt and tasted like Vaseline. I hated those things; they dried out your lips, felt awful, and the topcoat seemed to remove the lipstick part. Awful, just awful. Maybelline do a similar version but again I wasn’t impressed with them.

I was a bit sceptical when I heard about Stila’s Stay All Day and Kat Von D’s Everlasting Liquid Lipstick, but I decided to go for it.

I like the Stila lipstick; I got the shade Fiery after seeing it on Kathleenlights. The colour is a lot darker on me than I thought it would be, but I like it. The formula is very moisturising, and it lasted quite a long time – around 5 hours with a little fading. It didn’t do well when I was eating, and became very patchy, particularly in the centre of my lips, so that I had to wipe the rest off with my napkin discreetly when no one was looking. When reapplying over faded areas it did go a bit funny, you could see the bits where there was a build up of product, so I had to slap it on quite liberally to cover those areas up – because of course, the bits that had stayed in place did not want to budge when I tried to remove them and start again. In terms of longevity the Kat Von D lipsticks win hands down; these babies Do. Not. Move. Seriously – you need heavy duty make up remover, or some sort of emollient to get rid of the stuff. The Kat Von D lipsticks are very pigmented, the colours I chose looked almost fluorescent, but they were quite drying; before (and after) wearing these lipstick you need to use a decent lip balm.

Mildred Bunny - she missed me. ©tishandfipsy
Mildred Bunny – she missed me. ©tishandfipsy

I really like the make up I took with me on this trip, but it’s good to be home and have the pick of whatever make up hits my fancy. Plus, I had a certain someone at home who really missed me. I’m off on a few more trips over the next few weeks, so I’ll probably be posting more info about my travel make up.

If you want to see up to date pictures of my adventures you can find me on Instagram @tishandfipsy, and let me know what you take in your make up bag.

Cheerio!

Stephanie

Xxx

Leave a Reply

