Urban Decay Naked On The Run Review

The front of the palette, I like the faux tortoiseshell pattern and rose gold trim. ©tishandfipsy
The front of the palette, I like the faux tortoiseshell pattern and rose gold trim. ©tishandfipsy

I know, you’re probably thinking why is she doing this review now? Urban Decay’s Naked On The Run palette was launched in November 2014 in the UK, and I bought it on launch day, for next day delivery. This was on the back of the huuuuge disappointment that was the Selfridges Naked Vault launch (don’t get me started on that). I was originally told by the Urban Decay marketing department that this palette wasn’t going to be released in the UK, and blogged/ tweeted constantly about the unfairness of it all until UD said it was going to be released here after all. I’m not saying it was released as a direct result of my harassment, I’m sure lots of other bloggers did the same thing.

I eagerly awaited the release of this palette, hoping that it would be a balm I could apply to my sorely troubled heart (Georgette Heyer reference, anyone?). I really wanted to love this palette. The idea behind it is that you can take it anywhere – hence the name Naked On The Run – and I love this concept! I work away a lot, and for me, packing make up to take when I travel is torturous; how can I decide what to take and what to leave? I don’t want to take too much stuff with me, but how can I anticipate what make up looks I want to choose for three days? This seemed like an ideal solution – everything you could possibly need in one compact palette. So why the delay posting my review? I just really do not like this palette.

I love Urban Decay; without a doubt they are my favourite eyeshadow brand (although Too Faced is quickly gaining ground), but I just have not warmed to this product.

The outer packaging is nice – a tortoiseshell pattern, in a coppery/ bronze colour with greeny-pinky shimmers -sounds weird I know, it reminds me of aurora borealis- the packaging for the actual palette looks nice on the face of it, the same pattern as the outer packaging, with a rose-gold trim; how cute does that sound? The problem is that the shape and depth of the palette just make it really clunky and bulky. There are many other UD palettes that are easier to transport.

The front of the outer packaging. ©tishandfipsy
The front of the outer packaging. ©tishandfipsy

Well okay, you could argue that the Naked on the Run palette doesn’t just have eyeshadows;  the palette contains 6 eyeshadows (one of which could be used as a highlighter in a pinch), blusher, bronzer, eyeliner, Mascara and lipgloss! Seriously, what is the problem?!?!

The problem is, I don’t love any of the products in this palette; I know I should. A beauty blogger not loving a UD Naked product is tantamount to blasphemy. Sorry, it’s just how I feel.

The eyeshadows included are all new shades; it seems strange to be annoyed about new shades, but I was hoping they would be the best of the 2 basics palettes or a pick of the best of the Naked palettes. The shades are Dive, Fix, Resist, Dare and Stun; the highlight shade is 5050. The palette also includes a bronzer and blusher, simply labelled bronzer and blush, a 24/7 eyeliner in the shade Stag (a new shade) and black perversion mascara (both deluxe sample sizes) and a full sized lipgloss, again in a new shade, called Sesso.

Underside of the Naked on the Run palette ©tishandfipsy
Underside of the Naked on the Run palette ©tishandfipsy

Three of the eyeshadows are shimmery/ metallic (Dive, Resist and Stun), two are matte (Fix, and Dare), and to be honest, I’m not really sure what the highlight shade is… on the packaging it says that this is an all over colour. They are okay, I don’t really love any of the shades. I prefer the metallics, as they are more pigmented and less chalky than the matte shades. there isn’t much variation in colour across the palette in my opinion. The matte colours are all sludgey browns that are just… Blah.

The eyeliner is an ok shade, I like that it’s not black; I do get a bit sick of all eyeliners and mascaras seeming to be black these days. I am very pale, so black eyeliner and mascara can look a bit harsh against my skin. My issue with the eyeliner is that this is supposedly a travel palette, yet UD have included the 24/7 Glide on pencil, which is ok, but the formula means that the pencils become blunt very quickly and need sharpening after doing one eye. Having to bring a sharpener along as well as the palette isn’t exactly convenient; I don’t understand why they didn’t include a liquid or pen eyeliner instead, in my opinion this would have made more sense.

Back of the Urban Decay Naked on the Run palette, describing the contents ©tishandfipsy
Back of the Urban Decay Naked on the Run palette, describing the contents ©tishandfipsy

The mascara is a deluxe sample of the newest UD mascara, which makes sense…until you realise that this mascara is to be used as a two step process. The perversion mascara is designed to be used with the  subversion lash primer; on its own this mascara is not impressive, it is black, but doesn’t add volume, length or curl to my lashes. I don’t understand why they included one part of a two step process.

The lipgloss is okay, I’m not really a lipgloss girl, I prefer lipstick. The lipgloss is a nice rose shade with a subtle gold shimmer, echoing the colours of the packaging. The taste is a bit off-putting, it tastes like stale mint to me, but that might be me. It’s moisturising and glossy, not sticky. Eh. Fine.

Urban Decay Naked on the Run Palette interior and mirror ©tishandfipsy
Urban Decay Naked on the Run Palette interior and mirror ©tishandfipsy

The blusher is very pink. It’s a cool toned bright pink, which, to me the rest of the palette is warm/ neutral colours. The blusher is very pigmented, but you have to be careful to only use a tiny amount of the blusher, or you can look a bit scary. I don’t like the shade.

The bronzer is very orange. Nuff said.

I like that they gave you twice the amount of highlighter/ overall shade,  that you get a full sized lipgloss, aaaand…. that’s about it.

Overall I found this palette to be really disappointing. I really wanted to love it, but it’s just nothing special. The main selling point of this palette is that it includes almost everything you would need on the go, but as I don’t like the mascara, eyeliner, bronzer and blusher and the eyeshadows aren’t anything to write home about, I just can’t bring myself to use it. there is also the fact that pretty much everything in there is in new exclusive shades, so you won’t be able to repurchase them when they run out.

Urban Decay Naked on the Run Palette Contents ©tishandfipsy
Urban Decay Naked on the Run Palette Contents ©tishandfipsy

Urban Decay has so many great palettes, that I was really underwhelmed by Naked on the Run; it had the potential to be great, and with a few tweaks it would have been, but in the end it’s a bit blah. At £37 I would recommend buying the basics palettes instead if you want a good travel palette. The Naked Basics palettes are £22 each,  complement each other and contain all the basic shades you need for an every day eye look. They are also very compact. As I previously said, the Naked on the Run palette is very bulky, and you still have to take your foundation, pencil sharpener, lash primer, and brushes; you might as well just take a basic palette and the rest of your makeup. It would all fit in one bag and probably take up less space than Naked on the Run palette alone.

Urban Decay Naked on the Run Palette Swatches Left to Right: Sesso, Perversion, Stag, Dive, Fix, Resist, Dare, Stun, 5050, Bronzer and Blush. ©tishandfipsy
Urban Decay Naked on the Run Palette Swatches Left to Right: Sesso, Perversion, Stag, Dive, Fix, Resist, Dare, Stun, 5050, Bronzer and Blush. ©tishandfipsy

I was working away this week, and knowing I would be writing this review I tried to pack Naked on the Run to take with me, and give it another chance, but I just couldn’t bring myself to do it, and took L’oreal’s La Palette Nude and Stila’s Eyes are the Window in Mind instead.

I am going to have a play with Naked on the Run this weekend, and post a blog of different looks, but it just didn’t rock my world.

Let me know if you have this palette, and your thoughts in the comments below.

Cheerio

Stephanie

Xxx

6 thoughts on “Urban Decay Naked On The Run Review

  1. I wasn’t impressed with this palette either. I just doesn’t make any sense! I wish they would come out with one that you could customize with your own blush/bronzer/shadows!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

