Too Faced Sugar Pop, Natural Matte & Melted Metal

I am a makeup junkie, and eyeshadow palettes are my heroin; when a new eyeshadow palette is released I have an overwhelming need to possess it. As you can see from my makeup room posts, I have a lot of palettes (understatement). My favourite eyeshadow brand is Urban Decay, but I have to say I am starting to really like Too Faced; they are a close second to Urban Decay and are steadily narrowing the gap.

On 20th April the Too Faced Sugar Pop palette and Melted Metal lipsticks will be available in the UK (I have asked Too Faced to confirm if the Natural Matte palette is being released the same day, but haven’t heard back from them yet). Needless to say, on payday there’s going to be a Too Faced haul.

Image from too faced.com
Image from too faced.com

Just look at the packaging on the Sugar Pop palette – it is just too cute. I would buy it for the packaging alone (spendthrift). I love to wear bright eyeshadows – usually mixed in with a few neutrals so I don’t look like an eighties throw back- but this looks like the perfect palette for summer. I really like mpy Urban Decay Electric palette, but it’s a bit too bulky for travel; the Too Faced palettes are really compact, so this will be perfect for work trips when I am sometimes away from home for a few days at a time, but don’t want to wear the same basic makeup every day (booooring).

Image from too faced.com
Image from too faced.com
Image from too faced.com
Image from too faced.com

I don’t own the Natural Eyes palette (I know, I’m ashamed of myself) – every time I have gone to buy it, it has been out of stock. I am damn well going to get my hands on it this month. I know what I just said about boring basic makeup, but sometimes you want a neutral eye (for when you’re rocking bright purple lips for example), and I am getting a tad bored of trotting out the Urban Decay Naked Basics palettes day in day out.

Image from too faced.com
Image from too faced.com
Image from too faced.com
Image from too faced.com

There has been a lot of hype around matte palettes recently, which is great because it seems that the cosmetics companies are clocking on to the fact that we don’t want sparkly, glittery, shimmery eyeshadows all the time (excepting my four year old niece, who would love to wear “princess makeup” 24/7). The Too Faced Natural Matte palette looks similar to the Natural Eyes palette, but as the name would suggest, with matte eyeshadows instead of shimmery ones. I can’t get the Natural Eyes palette and not get the Natural Matte one too, let’s not be absurd. I need it.

It’s spring time (although no one seems to have told the weather – we had hail this morning); it is officially time to break out your bright lipsticks. I am so glad because I have been getting a bit bored of my red and plum lipsticks, which I never thought I would say. I haven’t tried the Too Faced Melted lipsticks, because last summer I had a bit of a thing for Revlon Colourburst Matt/ Lacquer Balms and Maybelline Colour Sensational Lipsticks. Too Faced are releasing Melted Metal in just over a week, and I can’t wait to try them.

Image from too faced.com
Image from too faced.com

They all look fabulous, but I have my eye on three shades in particular; Peony, Macaroon and Violet. The lipsticks seem to be more of a shimmery lipstick than full on metallic, but they look so pretty. I’m going to get these three to start with and see how they measure against the hype, then Imay get a few more.

Melted Violet. Image from too faced.com
Melted Violet. Image from too faced.com
Melted Macaroon. Image from too faced.com
Melted Macaroon. Image from too faced.com
Melted Peony. Image from too faced.com
Melted Peony. Image from too faced.com

If you are lucky enough to live in the US and already have your hands on these, or have already got the Natural Eyes palette let me know what you think.

Cheerio!

Stephanie

Xxx

Leave a Reply

