Bobbi Brown ‘Scotch on the Rocks’ Collection Review

Bobbi Brown Warm Glow Eyeshadow Palette
Bobbi Brown Warm Glow Eyeshadow Palette

I love a good Christmas collection (in fact most limited edition collections call out to me); I was really excited by the Bobbi Brown Scotch on the Rocks collection, and couldn’t wait to try it out.

In an ideal world (where I can buy all the pretty things that my heart desires), I would have liked to buy most of the collection, but the two pieces that grabbed my attention were the warm glow eyeshadow palette and the sultry red lipstick.

Can I first of all talk about the packing? The eyeshadows are in a vintage style mock-crocodile case with gold trim and a little button to open it; it is so classy! The lipstick is in a chic gold tube, with a silvery-gold band around the middle. They are just fabulous!

Bobbi Brown Warm Glow Eyeshadow Palette ©tishandfipsy
Bobbi Brown Warm Glow Eyeshadow Palette ©tishandfipsy
Bobbi Brown Sultry Red Lip Colour ©tishandfipsy
Bobbi Brown Sultry Red Lip Colour ©tishandfipsy

The eyeshadows themselves are a nice mix of shimmers and slightly glittery eyeshadows, with a few matte shades thrown in. As you would expect with Bobbi Brown eyeshadows, they are very subtle shades; if you want lots of glitter or really metallic eyeshadows these are probably not for you, instead these give your eyes (as the name suggests) a warm glow. I have been wearing the eyeshadows at work all week, they are really beautiful and festive, but not in an over the top way.

Detail of the shade names ©tishandfipsy
Detail of the shade names ©tishandfipsy
Bobbi Brown Warm Glow eyeshadow palette in natural light. ©tishandfipsy
Bobbi Brown Warm Glow eyeshadow palette in natural light. ©tishandfipsy

The shades all look very similar in the promotional photos, but they are a nice range of colours: Flesh is a nice creamy matte base colour, Bonfire (my favourite) is a slightly coppery gold shimmer, Velvet Bronze is a lovely metallic chocolate brown, Beige is a matte beige, Rosé is a metallic pinky champagne colour, Golden bronze is a very light metallic bronze colour, Golden Pink is a pale metallic rose-gold, Gold is a sparkly pale-gold, and Rich Caviar is a matte black and the one shade that I really don’t like. I really like this palette, and love all of the shades except the black shadow which is chalky and doesn’t really fit in with the rest of the shades; In my opinion a dark brown shade would have been much more appropriate. One of my biggest pet peeves is that makeup companies seem to assume that everyone uses black eyeshadow, mascara and liner; I find it really difficult to get my favourite eyeliner and mascara formulas in brown, and black often looks too harsh against my skin.

I ran out of space, so the swatches are a bit jumbled; Left to Right: Velvet Bronze, Golden Bronze, Rich Caviar, Flesh, Beige, Golden Pink, Bonfire, Rosé, and Gold. ©tishandfipsy
I ran out of space, so the swatches are a bit jumbled; Left to Right: Velvet Bronze, Golden Bronze, Rich Caviar, Flesh, Beige, Golden Pink, Bonfire, Rosé, and Gold. ©tishandfipsy
Using Flesh as a base, then Bonfire all over the lid, Beige in the crease and Velvet Bronze to deepen the outer v. (highlight is The Balm Mary-Lou Manizer and eyeliner is Rimmel Exaggerate in Absolute Brown) ©tishandfipsy
Using Flesh as a base, then Bonfire all over the lid, Beige in the crease and Velvet Bronze to deepen the outer v. (highlight is The Balm Mary-Lou Manizer and eyeliner is Rimmel Exaggerate in Absolute Brown) ©tishandfipsy
Close-up of the swatches from the first two rows; they didn't swatch very well as they are quite light- I would recommend using a good eyeshadow primer. Left to Right: Flesh, Beige, Golden Pink, Bonfire, Rosé and Gold. ©tishandfipsy
Close-up of the swatches from the first two rows; they didn’t swatch very well as they are quite light- I would recommend using a good eyeshadow primer. Left to Right: Flesh, Beige, Golden Pink, Bonfire, Rosé and Gold. ©tishandfipsy
Using Flesh as a base, then Bonfire all over the lid, Beige in the crease and Velvet Bronze to deepen the outer v. (highlight is The Balm Mary-Lou Manizer and eyeliner is Rimmel Exaggerate in Absolute Brown) ©tishandfipsy
Using Flesh as a base, then Bonfire all over the lid, Beige in the crease and Velvet Bronze to deepen the outer v. (highlight is The Balm Mary-Lou Manizer and eyeliner is Rimmel Exaggerate in Absolute Brown) ©tishandfipsy

On to the lipstick; I have never tried a Bobbi Brown lipstick before, but now that I have I will definitely be buying more in future! The formula is so creamy, it lasts forever (it was still on after I’d eaten my lunch) and it is very moisturising. The actual shade is a beautiful, vibrant, blue-based classic red; when first applied it has quite a glossy finish, which becomes more matte after a few hours of wear. The only thing I didn’t like about the lipstick was the scent; it has a very “lipsticky” cosmetic smell, which made me feel a bit nauseated when I first applied it. It’s not a massive issue, but I am used to lipsticks smelling like vanilla or a bit minty. Also, you can feel this product on your lips; if you are wanting a lip product that feels like you’re not wearing anything, then you might not like this lipstick.

Bobbi Brown Sultry Red swatch ©tishandfipsy
Bobbi Brown Sultry Red swatch ©tishandfipsy
Bobbi Brown Sultry Red swatch on my lips! ©tishandfipsy
Bobbi Brown Sultry Red swatch on my lips! ©tishandfipsy

As I said at the start of the review, I really like both pieces and have been wearing them all week. If you want to look festive, without looking overdone, then I would definitely recommend the eyeshadow palette; it’s neutral, but with a nice warm glow- sorry I can’t think of another way to describe it!

And here is a picture of me wearing it on my way to work (with my funky SkullCandy headphones) ©tishandfipsy
And here is a picture of me wearing the eyeshadows and lipstick on my way to work (with my funky SkullCandy headphones on, listening to Christmas songs) ©tishandfipsy

If you want to see more of what I’m getting up to you can follow me on instagram at tishandfipsy or on Twitter @tish_and_fipsy,

Leave a Reply

