MOTD: Extreme Vintage

Exaggerated winged liner and a berry stained 'pout' image ©tishandfipsyblog
Exaggerated winged liner and a berry stained ‘pout’. I can’t pout. image ©tishandfipsyblog
Paris Fashion Week, Jean Paul Gaultier: Topknot, severe brows and heavy winged eyeliner with a nude lip. Picture from Cosmopolitan UK.
Paris Fashion Week, Jean Paul Gaultier: Topknot, severe brows and heavy winged eyeliner with a nude lip. Picture from Cosmopolitan UK.

Technically this was yesterday’s makeup, but it was a looong day and I didn’t have time to write it all up when I got home from work. Also It was dark when I left the house and when I got back home, so it was difficult to find appropriate times/ places for selfies, so apologies about that…The look I chose was exaggerated winged liner with severe brows and nude lips as per the Jean Paul Gaultier show at Paris Fashion Week. In retrospect this was probably not the look to try on a morning when I have limited time (winged liner can go so wrong when you’re rushing). During PFW this makeup was  paired with tightly coiled topknots; I recently had my waist length locks chopped into a shoulder length bob, I tried to do a topknot, but it just wasn’t happening. As a kind-of compromise I slicked my hair back into a tight high ponytail and made a mini-quiff with my growing-out fringe.

I tried to do nude lips, but in my early morning panic I left my nude lipstick and liner at home. I was going to leave my lips completely bare, but because my eyes were so dressy it just looked weird. In my bag there are usually at least 2 lip products, and I swear they were calling out to me…

See! without the lips it just looks wrong! Image ©tishandfipsyblog
See! without the lips it just looks wrong! Image ©tishandfipsyblog

I really wasn’t sure about the eyeliner, mostly because on the day it turned out a lot wonkier than in the practice run (can I just say that with the Urban Decay 24/7 eyeliners you have to use a light hand!). My boss really liked it, and said it had a vintage vixen vibe about it, but I just felt like I had way too much makeup on. Strangely though, a lot more random strangers than usual talked to me at the train station and the supermarket. Just saying. I don’t know if it was because of the pony tail, slicked back hair makes me feel greasy rather than stylish, I just don’t think I can pull it off; sometimes catwalk looks don’t translate well in real life. I may try the eyeliner again, but with my hair styled differently- possibly a beehive a la Terri White.

OOTD: Leopard print shift dress from Next, Black cropped cardigan from New Look, Bag from Accessorize, Shoes Jacked Up by Iron Fist.  Image ©tishandfipsyblog
OOTD: Leopard print shift dress from Next, Black cropped cardigan from New Look, Bag from Accessorize, Shoes Jacked Up by Iron Fist.
Image ©tishandfipsyblog

I tried and failed to find the products used in the original look, but the products I used to recreate it are listed below:

Face

  • Diorskin Nude Foundation in 010 Ivory
  • Benefit Highbeam
  • MAC Simpsons Blusher in Sideshow You

Eyes

  • Too Faced Shadow Insurance
  • Urban Decay Vice 3 – shades Alien & Alchemy
  • Urban Decay Naked Basics Venus (Highlight) and Faint (Eyebrows)
  • Urban Decay 24/7 Glide on Eyeliner Pencil in Black Velvet
  • Lancome Hypnose Waterproof Mascara in Black

Lips

  • NARS Audacious in Charlotte

Method

I forgot to moisturise or use a primer (head slap), I started out by applying my foundation using my fingertips (I couldn’t find my foundation brush) but only to my forehead – I wanted to be able to clean up any fallout from the eyeshadow, but I also didn’t want to mess up my eyebrows by getting foundation in them, so I went for a half-and-half approach. It made sense to me at the time.

The original look had very severe black eyebrows, I am very pale and have auburn hair so this looked awful; instead of using the Naked 2 shade of my Naked Basics palette I used the darker shade Faint, so my eyebrows were still quite severe. I used an angled brush to line my brows first and then fill them in. To get the extreme wing I used the scotch tape trick (using gift/ sticky tape from the corner of your eye to the eyebrow), I placed the tape before doing the eyeshadow so that the shape matched the eyeliner. I used Alchemy on my whole lid, and then blended it out with Alien up to my brow bone; as the eyeliner is quite heavy this didn’t require any fancy blending using multiple shadows. I sharpened the pencil before attempting each eye, as I mentioned this worked a lot better on the practice run, the UD pencils are very melty and I was a bit groggy/ heavy handed yesterday morning. After sketching in the line I pulled the tape away, and then drew a line from the middle of my eyelid to the wing, to soften the angle, and then went over the wing section, then I lined from my inner corner to the middle of my eye. When I was lining my right eye the end of the pencil broke off and the eyeliner went a bit off-kilter; I tried to repair the damage but it was slightly wonky and drove me crazy for the entire day. I curled my lashes and applied 2 coats of Lancome Hypnose Waterproof Mascara in black; I love this mascara, people always ask me if I’m wearing falsies when I wear it, but it is a bugger to remove.

Next I finished my foundation routine, and applied Benefit Highbeam to my cheekbones and nose, then MAC blusher in Sideshow You to the apples of my cheeks. Finally I used an accent brush to out Venus on my browbone and to the inner corner of my eyes.

Can you see the mistake on the right eyeliner? Gah! Image ©tishandfipsyblog
Can you see the mistake on the right eyeliner? Gah! Image ©tishandfipsyblog

For the lips I applied a coat of NARS Audacious in Charlotte, and then used my fingers to rub the lipstick in and smudge it a little bit, so it was more like a stain than a lipstick.

If you are going to attempt this look, make sure that you have ‘softened’ the tape a few times by applying it to the back of your hands before using it on your eyes, otherwise it will hurt when you get around to taking it off!

Hope you enjoyed reading this.

Xx

Leave a Reply

