MOTD: Dark Fairytale Princess (Rodarte AW14)

My attempt at the look (trying to be sultry) with a loose braid, with sections pulled out.
My attempt at the look (trying to be sultry) with a loose braid, with sections pulled out.
Rodarte AW14 Makeup (Image from Lucy Freeman Pinterest)
Rodarte AW14 Makeup (Image from Lucy Freeman Pinterest)

As per yesterday’s blog, today I decided to try out one of the AW14 beauty looks; today’s look was from the Rodarte show, based on makeup by James Kaliardos. I didn’t have a lot of the products used in the original look, so I improvised and used products from my own makeup collection. I quite liked the look overall, but despite only really using 3 products on my eyes, it felt like I was wearing a lot more makeup than usual. My husband told me I looked hot, my friend Siobhan said it was very dramatic and I felt it had a Helena Bonham Carter vibe. The make up statement is supposed to be quite ethereal, otherworldly, almost gothic and with a suggestion of ‘dark fairytale princess’ about it, which I felt came across in my interpretation and I really liked. I have to say I got really annoyed with the lips though, and ended up redoing them using less products, and was much happier as a result. The undone braid was a bit irritating, I hate it when my hair escapes and gets in my way, so I put a lot of kirby grips/ Bobby pins in to keep it in place. Would I wear this look again? The face/ eye makeup definitely, but the lips – maybe to a party, but it is too much effort for everyday. Keep reading if you would like to know the products used in the original look and the products I used, plus lots of pictures of me pulling silly faces; unless otherwise stated all pictures are copyrighted by @tishandfipsyblog

The NARS products used by Kaliardos were:

FACE

  • NARSskin Luminous Moisture Cream
  • Pure Radiant Tinted Moisturizer
  • Radiant Creamy Concealer
  • Pressed Powder
  • Unlawful Blush
  • Anguilla Matte Multiple

EYES

  • Dolomites Duo Eyeshadow
  • Larger Than Life Lengthening Mascara
  • Brow Gel

Lips

  • Mambo Eyeliner
  • Deborah Audacious Lipstick (New for Fall 2014, for now try Pigalle Semi Matte Lipstick)
  • Rouge Tribal Larger Than Life Lip Gloss

I don’t have all these products, so below are the products I used to recreate the look:

image

Face:

  • Rimmel Stay Matte Primer
  • Diorskin Nude Foundation in 010 Ivory
  • Benefit Stay Don’t Stray in Light/ Medium
  • Benefit The Big Easy in 01 Fair
  • Urban Decay De-slick Mattifying Powder
  • No7 Ballerina Beauty Blush Palette (Ltd Edition)
  • MUA Undress Your Skin Highlighting Powder

Eyes:

  • Too Faced Shadow Insurance
  • Too Faced Chocolate Bar Palette (shades Black Forest Truffle, Hazelnut & Creme Brûlée)
  • Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara

Lips:

  • Rimmel Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl Eyeliner in 012 Bronze
  • NARS Semi-Matte Lipstick in Shanghai Express
  • Urban Decay Vice 3 (shades Bondage, Angel & Sonic)
  • MaxFactor Max Effect Lipgloss in 10 Orange Smack
  • Lipcote Lipstick Sealer
1st try at the lips using MaxFactor Max Effect in 10 Orange Smack
1st try at the lips using MaxFactor Max Effect in 10 Orange Smack

Method

Face*:The main thing that struck me about this look was that it was very ethereal, the skin is flawless, pale and seems to glow from within. At the moment my skin is TERRIBLE; there was a lot of comfort eating the week we lost Pippin, and I am now paying the price. Not to brag, but usually my skin is pretty clear, so I can get away with a tinted moisturiser or lightweight foundation. Today I broke out the big guns- I started out by priming my face with a big glob of the Rimmel Stay Matte primer, then the Diorskin Nude (my heaviest foundation) which I applied with my fingers, then I dotted the Benefit Stay Don’t Stray over my blemishes, followed by Benefit The Big Easy (again dotted over blemishes), then I powdered my T-zone and blemishes with Urban Decay De-slick Mattifying Powder, applied No7 Ballerina Beauty Blusher (any deep cool toned pink will be fine) along/ under my cheekbones & blended out, and then brushed MUA Undress Your Skin Highlighting Powder on my cheek bones, down my nose and in my cupids bow.

I know that this seems like a lot of effort, but if you have okay skin just your usual foundation and highlight routine will be fine, I’m just having a bad skin day (week).

*I did my eyes first, then cleaned up any fallout with a makeup wipe before doing my face.

Eyes: It looks like in the original look the makeup artist only used one eyeshadow applied all over the lid and blended out towards the brow-bone; this was my initial plan, but the Too Faced primer proved really difficult to work with – I mean once that stuff was on my lids the eyeshadow was NOT moving at all. I realise that this is the point of eyeshadow primer, but you need to be able to blend! I ended up using a fluffy brush to apply Black Forest Truffle to my whole lid & crease, then a clean brush to try and blend it out, then I added Hazelnut to my lid and blended this up towards my browbone, and added Creme Brûlée just under my browbone. I used an angled brush to fill my eyebrows with Hazelnut, and then used a small shadow brush to line under my eyes with Hazelnut, and a clean brush to smudge it out a little. I then curled my eyelashes and applied one coat of Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara to my top and bottom eyelashes.

2nd attempt at the lips using Lipcoate to seal it all in.
2nd attempt at the lips using Lipcoate to seal it all in.

Lips: Can I just say that this lip look was ridiculously high maintenance? I ended up redoing it in the end because I was so annoyed with having to reapply everything. Version 1: I lined and filled in my lips using the Rimmel Scandaleyes eyeliner pencil in 012 Bronze, I dabbed on NARS Semi-matte Lipstick in Shanghai Express, I used a mix of Angel & Bondage eyeshadow (from Vice 3) to line my lips and then filled them in using Sonic from the same palette, I finished this off by dabbing MaxFactor Max Effect Lipgloss in 10 Orange Smack. It took about ten minutes for all the products to come off my lips (as soon as I drank tea – I’m British, it’s what we do). I had a bit of a rethink, relined/ filled my lips with the eyeliner, dabbed on more Shanghai Express, filled my whole lips with Sonic from Vice 3 and them covered my lips with Lipcoate Lipstick Sealer; this was all still in place 3 hours and numerous cups of tea later.

Final look...
Final look…
...but I can't keep a straight face for long...
…but I can’t keep a straight face for long…
...told you.
…told you.
Also painted my nails with Jessica custom nail colour in Cinnamon Kiss. The jumper/ sweater is from Dorothy Perkins and is a couple of years old.
Also painted my nails with Jessica custom nail colour in Cinnamon Kiss. The jumper/ sweater is from Dorothy Perkins and is a couple of years old.
Leave a Reply

