AW14 Beauty Trends: From Catwalk to Catastrophe?

Paris Fashion Week, Jean Paul Gaultier: Topknot, severe brows and heavy winged eyeliner with a nude lip. Picture from Cosmopolitan UK.
Paris Fashion Week, Jean Paul Gaultier: Topknot, severe brows and heavy winged eyeliner with a nude lip. Picture from Cosmopolitan UK.

Whenever there is a fashion show I find myself drawn more to the beauty and hair side of things than the fashion; this is probably because as a 5ft 1 curvy girl, I’m probably not the kind of shape that the designers had in mind (as right or wrong as that may be).

Some of the clothes on display during the various fashion weeks are amazing, and quite wearable, some are downright kooky, but the main point is that it is going to take quite a while for the high street versions of high fashion to hit the streets, and hence be within my budget.

New York Fashion Week, Ann Yee: Texturised updo, minimal eye makeup and purpley-blue lips. image from Cosmopolitan UK.
New York Fashion Week, Ann Yee: Texturised updo, minimal eye makeup and purpley-blue lips. image from Cosmopolitan UK.

The beauty trends, however fantastical, in my opinion can be attempted within any budget; I know that there are a lot of drugstore brands in the US like Milani, and in the UK there are brands like Barry M and Collection 2000 that are quite decent and quite inexpensive.

Each season I find myself looking through pictures from the fashion shows, thinking this or that look would be quite interesting to try, but I tend to wear variations of the same 3 or 4 basic make up looks. To shake things up, I’m going to challenge myself to try out some of the looks from the AW14 shows over the next 2 weeks; I will attempt to copy or adapt a different look each day, and then blog about how wearable (or not) it was, how it made me feel and how people reacted to whatever I wore that day.

New York Fashion Week, Rodarte: Metallic Lips and eyes in a mauvey-copper colour. Image from Cosmopolitan UK.
New York Fashion Week, Rodarte: Metallic Lips and eyes in a mauvey-copper colour. Image from Cosmopolitan UK.

This year the focus was more on eyes than lips, and I am soooo into dark lips at the moment (NARS audacious in Charlotte is my current favourite, swoon), so this may be a bit difficult…

One thought on “AW14 Beauty Trends: From Catwalk to Catastrophe?

Leave a Reply

